So, I don't know exactly how to say this, but there has been a fire in the mare barn. We were in the process of moving to a new town, and the fire spread too quickly for anyone to do much about it.
We have lost almost all of our mares! It is extremely devastating and saddening. We still have six to eight mares that were at the young stock barn or in the first few stalls of the mare barn. Luckily no mares had foals with them or were pregnant, unluckily we have lost some absolutely amazing ladies.
All of my horses were at the mare barn when this happened, so I lost all but my Hanoverian stallion, but he is burned badly and may not make it.
Kerling Grace Stables will be moving again to a town extremely far away this time (windows to a mac to be exact) so we can possibly leave this behind and start new. Almost all of the mares that survived are already there and settling in.
Mandi and Nikki Harrow may not be moving with us! This would be a drastic change considering they would be selling almost all of their horses, however Nikki was burned trying to save horses. They may wait to move in a few months. I have to wait until my Hanoverian is healed a bit more before I can move him, but I'm sure everything will turn out fine.
Wish us the best of luck here at KGS, because we are sorely lacking.

With love and well wishes,
Alyssa@KGS



Leave a Reply.